The Tower at STAR Campus 100 Discovery Blvd, Suite 800 Newark DE 19713 302-737-6205; Fax 302-286-7131 Website: www.wilmapco.org

DRAFT

RESOLUTION

BY THE WILMINGTON AREA PLANNING COUNCIL (WILMAPCO) TO ENDORSE THE DELAWARE FIRST/FINAL MILE FREIGHT NETWORK DEVELOPMENT STUDY

WHEREAS, the Wilmington Area Planning Council (WILMAPCO) has been designated the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for Cecil County, Maryland and New Castle County, Delaware by the Governors of Maryland and Delaware, respectively; and

WHEREAS, the WILMAPCO Council recognizes that comprehensive planning for future land use, transportation, sustainable economic development, environmental protection and enhancement, and community health and livability are necessary actions to implement the goals and objectives in the 2050 Regional Transportation Plan (RTP); and

WHEREAS, the objective of the Delaware First/Final Mile Freight Network Development Study is to create a greater understanding of Delaware's first/final mile connections that link businesses to state and national highway networks; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware First/Final Mile Freight Network Development Study employed a focus group comprised from the local trucking community along with continuous and rigorous public engagement throughout the planning process; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware First/Final Mile Freight Network Development Study will help Delaware's transportation stakeholders make effective improvements and maintain first/final mile connections while balancing the needs of other transportation users;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilmington Area Planning Council does hereby endorse the final report and recommendations of Delaware First/Final Mile Freight Network Development Study.

Date:

John Sisson, Chairperson Wilmington Area Planning Council



Partners with you in transportation planning

WILMAPCO Council:

John Sisson, Chair Delaware Transit Corporation Chief Executive Officer

Connie C. Holland Delaware Office of State Planning Coordination, Director

Danielle Hornberger Cecil County Executive

Nicole Majeski Delaware Dept. of Transportation Secretary

Matthew Meyer New Castle County Executive

Heather Murphy Maryland Dept. of Transportation Director, Office of Planning and Capital Programming

Michael S. Purzycki Mayor of Wilmington

Eric Scott Thompson Mayor of Elsmere

Loucretia Wood Charlestown Commissioner

WILMAPCO Executive Director Tigist Zegeye