The Tower at STAR Campus 100 Discovery Blvd, Suite 800 Newark DE 19713 302-737-6205; Fax 302-286-7131 e-mail: wilmapco@wilmapco.org website: www.wilmapco.org

## DRAFT

## RESOLUTION

## BY THE WILMINGTON AREA PLANNING COUNCIL (WILMAPCO) TO ENDORSE THE CHURCHMANS CROSSING PLAN UPDATE

**WHEREAS**, the Wilmington Area Planning Council (WILMAPCO) has been designated the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for Cecil County, Maryland and New Castle County, Delaware by the Governors of Maryland and Delaware, respectively; and

**WHEREAS**, the WILMAPCO Council recognizes that comprehensive planning for future land use, transportation, sustainable economic development, environmental protection and enhancement, and community health and livability are necessary actions to implement the goals and objectives in the 2050 Regional Transportation Plan (RTP); and

**WHEREAS**, the New Castle County Department of Land Use and DelDOT requested that WILMAPCO coordinate with them to update the land use and transportation plan for the Churchmans Crossing area; and

**WHEREAS**, the Churchmans Crossing Plan Update assessed existing demographic, land use, environmental, traffic, and market conditions; and

**WHEREAS**, the Churchmans Crossing Plan Update employed continuous and rigorous public engagement throughout the planning process; and

**WHEREAS**, the Churchmans Crossing Plan Update includes revised recommendations for transportation improvements and land use strategies to guide the future of the Churchman's Crossing area. The plan update used a collaborative process that considered environmental, community, and economic impacts of proposed improvements early in the planning process, consistent with the Federal Highway Administrations Planning and Environmental Linkages (PEL) approach;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Wilmington Area Planning Council does hereby endorse the final report and recommendations of the Churchmans Crossing Plan Update.

Date:

John Sisson, Chairperson Wilmington Area Planning Council

WILMAPCO Council:

John Sisson, Chair Delaware Transit Corporation Chief Executive Officer

Jennifer Cohan Delaware Dept. of Transportation Secretary

Connie C. Holland Delaware Office of State Planning Coordination, Director

Alan McCarthy Cecil County Executive

Matthew Meyer New Castle County Executive

Heather Murphy Maryland Dept. of Transportation Director, Office of Planning and Capital Programming

Michael S. Purzycki Mayor of Wilmington

Michael Spencer Mayor of Newport

Dave Warnick Rising Sun Commissioner

WILMAPCO Executive Director Tigist Zegeye